by thebirdieflies

Dear Future Me

If you decide to have children, do let them know that school isn’t something to make a big deal about.

Let them know that the real world has bigger problems than not doing homework or not scoring good marks, or not wearing your uniform properly.

Let them know that school is only there to teach them five important things: reading, writing, basic arithmetic, logical reasoning and appreciation of social sciences.

That there are more important things in life than being the best student.

That one will soon outgrow most school friends, but being able to interact in social situations is something to keep for life.

That teachers are only humans, and one shouldn’t take them too seriously – they have their own prejudices, their own beliefs, their own sensibilities and they might not be right all the time. It is more important to develop your Own beliefs, sensibilities, morals, and be able to stand up for what you believe.

Above all, if you decide to have children, make sure you don’t them treat them as a child all the time.

Love

Present Me

10 Comments to “”

  1. This is perfect advice.
    My parents still do not know how to treat their children like adults.

  2. i actually have somewhere written out on stuff i shouldnt do to my kids that my parent do to me… Just in case there’s this cross-over to parent hood where u forgeyt all the crappy things ur parents did to u that u hated…

  3. Plot 692, somide odujirin avenue, Omole Phase 2, Ojodu, Lagos state… I’m so excited!!!

    • I should add ‘Nigeria’ in the end, and is there a zip code or something I should add?

      • oh yes… Forgot the Nigeria bit… And no.. No zip code in yonder here :D… Name: Ms. Taiwo Odutola.

      • I’ve already posted it. I couldn’t remember your last name and I checked out your Yahoo profile (from your blog) which only had your first name, so I addressed it to ‘Taiwo’ only.

        Hope you get it soon!

        Also, this is so weird, but I had a dream last night that you came here! And I got to show you around and all, but mom was all skeptical of you cuz you’re my ‘Internet friend’ πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

