Regret

by thebirdieflies

“I do not regret the things I’ve done, but those I did not do.”

Some sources say Rory Cochrane said that.

In my case, I find it occurring both ways.

I regret things I’ve done, but technically that is just another way of saying I regret things I haven’t done. For example, I regret leading my best friend on = I regret NOT having told him earlier what I really thought of him. Tada. ‘Tis a magic called Negation!

It so happens that a blog-friend of mine wrote about the same thing last week. Fuck regret, I say too. Regret only comes in the way of you achieving awesome things in life, because instead of concentrating on being awesome (Barney Stinson style), you concentrate on regrets. And my advice to my Future Self is: Don’t give yourself the Chance to regret something. And in case you do, move on, move on.

We exist on earth for such a brief period of time. I don’t know about re-incarnation, but isn’t it up to us to live the best way we can, while we are living?
I don’t think it matters when we die.
When we die, we’re just, finished. Nothing to regret anymore.
But while we’re living, oh we should be Living!
People who fast get stuck in the drudgery of everyday life, lose sight of beauty in this world.
They lose sight of that which makes this world such a wonderful place to live in.
They take for granted the many thousands of years of evolution and development that have resulted in us being who we are!
They forget about the other species co-existing on the planet along with us.

They forget about nature’s miracles, those remarkable phenomena which take our breath away, because time and again, we underestimate the magic.

I want to go scuba-diving and see how the fish live.
I want to go paragliding, to feel how a bird feels.
I want to climb rocks and mountains and feel the sense of achievement when we use our bodies the way they were meant to be used. (Also, parkour!)
I want to study the stars, and gasp at aurorae.
I want to partake in acts of daredevilry and court death, because even if I die, it’ll be a far grander way to die, than to die of a heart attack sitting in front of the television.

Experiences.
They shape us. Everything, from being told off by mothers to dressing up for a party is an experience. Without experience, we would have the brain of a newborn baby.
And the more things you experience, the more you learn about life itself.

It makes me happy, that I’ve inherited some of my father’s love for travel, and experimentation.
I see people who refuse to step out of their comfort zones even when it comes to doing something as mundane as trying out a new cuisine.
Granted I don’t fearlessly chomp down foreign cuisines and granted, I have my apprehensions too. I know there are things that I will never be able to bring myself to try.
But I think I’m a little better than them, because I Try. Of late, this aspect of mine has developed even more.

I don’t want to regret living on this beautiful planet and not seeing enough of it.
But I do fear I don’t have the time/resources.

12 Comments to “Regret”

  1. OMG!! I LoVE this! Just the kick in the ass i need to enter the last third of the year!!! No Holds Barred… All out living!!!

  2. loved, loved, loved this! : )

  3. Ach, I could have written this. The only thing holding me back is money, and I’m terrified I’ll die without seeing the places I want to visit. I almost feel like it would be a waste of life to be so confined by Geography; I’ve only been outside the UK once, to Germany. S and I plan to go to Prague and Spain if we can ever afford it, but there are so many place I want to go. Canada. Japan. Route 66. Vegas. Russia. I don’t think I’ll ever achieve it *sigh*

    I love how positive this post is, and I agree – fuck regret. I have few regrets, and those I do have are slowly being dealt with. I try to remember that every single moment of my life led me to this point, and I wouldn’t be me without the nightmares. Excellent post luv!

    • I knooooow. Though everyone says money can’t buy you happiness, I think money can buy you stuff that brings you happiness πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰
      I’m currently limited by funds too, but I want to make the best out of the situation I’m in. For starters, that means exploring the city I’m in, to a reasonable degree. It also means not passing up opportunities to do stuff that will sure make for amazing memories! You know, stuff that most people conventionally don’t do. Like climb trees. πŸ˜€

      I wish you best of luck! πŸ™‚

  4. “The only thing we have to fear, is fear itself.” – FDR.
    Although he may have fucked up my country with Social Security, he did render this wise statement which has stuck with me, through and through.
    Your article is inspiring.
    I want to see the world, too.
    Thank you for giving me a grand bout of motivation on this Monday 4am morning.
    You little objectivist minx!
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  5. You popped into my head this afternoon – I’m not sure why, since it wasn’t in context with either of our blogs or posts we’ve written. I just thought of you out of the blue and was wondering how you are. I haven’t been keeping up with people very well this summer, and so I made a point to come say hi tonight! Hi!

    I go back and forth on the idea of regret. I did a Query on regret and couldn’t decide if I believed in it or not. I came to the conclusion that there are definitely things that I would not do again, that I’m sorry for or ashamed of. And there are things I wish I had done. But I don’t regret that I am the person I am today, and all of those life experiences got me here.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

