Aaand, that’s a SAVE!

by thebirdieflies

Dear Future Me

We had a soccer match today. It was intra-college soccer, with teams of 5, each half of 8 minutes and a small field.
My team was in the group stage and we had to either win or draw today’s match to qualify to the next round.

It sounds easy, right?
We’d once lost against the same team in last year’s tournament. And we’d lost really badly. 4-0 or some such score.

I knew it would be a shame if we were to lose today. We had it so easy. We just had to prevent a goal. But we were after all facing a team that could bulldoze its way past us, to the goal.

To put it in a nutshell:
1. We drew 0-0.
2. The opposite team’s defender kicked really high, and being amateurs that we were, 3 times our arms unfortunately touched the ball and we fouled.
3. One such time, the opposite team was awarded a penalty kick. This was their one big chance to score. We held our breaths and cursed them mentally and hah, they missed!
4. One of their strikers, their team’s bulldozers, knocked all of us about. She elbowed me in my solar plexus, she blocked our paths, she pulled us out of the way.
5. I received two direct hits: one to my abdomen, and one to my forehead that knocked me off balance like a rag doll. Head’s still hurting, but my brain’s fully functional.
6. The first half of the game, the opposite team was really laid back. Maybe they were trying to make us complacent, but we saw through it and were fully prepared for the second half in which they were aggressive like hell.
7. During the last 5 minutes of the game, we just kept kicking the ball outside the field. They’d get a corner, we’d intercept and kick it out. Best. Strategy. Ever. (when you’re playing against a team as amateur as you)
8. The rush of beating a team you’d once lost to, is Amazing.

Wish me luck, I’m the team captain.
I know not when the next match shall be, but I hope we win that too.
In fact, I’ve been thinking about starting to run in the evenings in order to improve my stamina. Not just for these matches, they’re not that big a deal, but you know, a good stamina never hurt anybody.

In the end, I shall leave you with a photo from today.

 

 

Do you recognize your 20-year-old self? Do you like how you used to look? Do you like how you look now?

Love,

Past Me

4 Comments to “Aaand, that’s a SAVE!”

  1. love this post! you’re top middle, right? so pretty!
    i hated my 20-year old self. but i j’adore the girl 10 years her senior. 😀
    xoxo

  2. Haha, I’m not top middle, that’s just my overly cheerful friend! Keep guessing. 😛

    Oh that’s lovely. I always think that one should be happy with their current selves, and not live in the past and obsess over how good (or not-so-good) they USED to look once upon a time.

    That’s what I wish for Future Me. 🙂

  3. the front middle *fingers crossed* it’s really cool you have friends and hobbies and all that my 20 year old self is a bit of a loner 😦

  4. Nope. Wrong again. I don’t like getting photographed, so I will rarely be found in the center 😛

    Ohh, sometimes I think I’m a bit of a loner as well, because despite having friends, I have difficulty being open to them. I’m a little wary about being judged. And it has happened far too many times that I’ll test the waters and find that most of my friends do start judging me.

    Hobbies, yes, I do have them. Don’t you have any? 🙂

Leave a Reply

