28 Watched, 222 Left

by thebirdieflies

One of my goals this semester was to watch 50 out of IMDB’s 250 Top Movies.
At the time that I started with this goal, I believe about 16 or so I’d already seen.

It’s not an important goal, of course. It doesn’t have priority over academics or other extra-curricular activities, the non-laptop ones. It’s just a side-goal, part of my efforts to watch good cinema. Plus, there’s nothing more satisfying than to be able to append an asterisk to a name in a long list of names, and watch the asterisks build up.
What can I say, I love ticking things off lists! 😀

The ones I watched recently are (in alphabetical order; because what’s better than a list? An ARRANGED list!):
12 Angry Men
American History X
Forrest Gump
Goodfellas
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
Pulp Fiction
Requiem For a Dream
The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
The Pianist
The Prestige
To Kill a Mockingbird

Of these, I found Requiem for a Dream, The Pianist and American History X extremely disturbing. However, while I think I can watch the last two again, I doubt I’ll ever want to watch Requiem for a Dream again. Everyone’s just hurtling towards disaster in the movie.
Forrest Gump has excellent acting, but I believe that’s the only thing in it. The story is passable, and it’s everything but inspiring, watching a slow-witted man go from one good fortune to another, just walking through life, telling everyone that if a slow-witted can make it, then so should you. That’s just how I saw the movie, I’m sure it means other things to other people.
12 Angry Men is excellent. Eternal Sunshine has crappy science in it, so does The Prestige, so they fell a little flat on me. But they’re still good in many other ways.

Honestly, this little semester-goal for me was a really good idea. Films like these are excellent windows to cultural and social sideshows like drug-addiction, neo-Nazism, life in a mental hospital, the proceedings of a criminal court case, magical illusions, life being a mobster etc.

Leave a Reply

