Of GPAs

by thebirdieflies

I did mention how I’d write about the importance of GPA’s, remember?

In short, the two reasons GPA’s matter to me are –
First, it is just another achievement.
Second, it allows me to be good.

If you get a good GPA, you get all the praise, all the proud smiles and pats on the back that are associated with any important achievement of any kind. Now, this leads me to wonder, if people didn’t consider one of my achievements important, would I still be as proud of it? Or does part of the high get diluted?
I don’t know, honestly. I suppose part of the high does get diluted. But an achievement in Any sense will always have appreciators, and maybe in such a case, I would rather focus on those who understand the worth of my achievement, than those who do not.
Getting abad GPA is not the end of the world, but if it turns out to be good, I get to feel proud of myself.
It may not be indicative of my knowledge, or of my capabilities to others, but since I would most likely not have resorted to plagiarism to get good grades, I know it will be, to me.

Then, if I am doing well grades-wise, I don’t have to resort to plagiarism to get by. It is only when I am desperate to stay afloat, not fail a course, not let my grades drop below some minimum requirement, will I have to resort to that. If I’m doing well in a course and it’s a question of a few marks, I can choose to lose those marks (if I don’t know the answer myself), than cheat. This is because cheating doesn’t pay the price of those few marks. But to stay alive, one must do whatever one has to, and desperation more often than not, drives a person to do something they would otherwise not have.
I recently read Survivor Type by Stephen King, and the above statement rings true Loud and clear in that story. Don’t read it if you are easily freaked out.

That said, I got my first C a few days back. The shock of the first C grade was dissolved by the knowledge that I wasn’t doing too well in this course, that quite a few others who I consider very intelligent got C too, and that I had actually improved and learnt something in the duration between the mid semester exams and the end semester exams.
But yes, no more C’s; I need to keep my GPA above 8 points.
Sigh. Till last semester, I was trying to stay above 9 points.

Leave a Reply

